OPTION	REQUEST A DRIVING COURSE
3	Take a course, pay a reduced fee to Cour

A request for this option must be made by your appearance date. Driving Course will not be granted after the response date. You Must Meet ALL Eligibility Requirements:

- You are at least 17 years of age.
- You do not possess a Commercial Driver's License.
- You have current liability insurance & a valid Texas Driver's License.
- You are not charged with speeding more than 24 miles per hour over the speed limit and the violation did not occur in a construction zone.
- You have not taken a Driving Course within the last 12 months

The following items must be submitted to the court on or before the appearance date shown on the citation to be eligible to take the course: DO NOT take the course prior to getting approval.

- 1. Submit the NOTARIZED affidavit below.
- 2. Court Costs of \$144.00, or \$169.00 (for school zone violations).

3. Copy of your Texas driver's license and current proof of insurance, listing you as a covered driver.

DRIVING COURSE REQUEST: Citation ____

I wish to enter a plea of 🔲 Guilty OR 🔄 No Contest

I waive my right to a jury trial and request a 90-day deferment to complete a Driving Safety Course. I understand that this plea can result in a guilty, but this judgment will not be entered, and no conviction will appear on my record upon submitting the following:

1) Proof of completion of the course and 2) a certified copy of my driving record as maintained by the Texas Dept. of Public Safety (3A version)<u>https://txapps.texas.gov/tolapp/txldrcdr/TXDPSLicenseeManager</u> 3) Copy of Driver's License and 4) Proof of Insurance.

I further understand that I am eligible to request a Driving Safety Course for only one violation at a time. My failure to comply with the terms of this request will result in assessment of a fine and possible conviction on my driving record. Your Signature: _____

Address: _____

Daytime Telephone City, State, Zip Code

DRIVING SAFETY COURSE AFFIDAVIT (must be notarized)

"Before me, the undersigned authority, personally appeared the above-named Defendant, known to me to be the person whose name is subscribed hereto, who after being duly sworn upon his/her oath sated that the following statements are true:

My name is (print name) _____

And I stand charged with the offense of _____

I am requesting the Court to defer proceedings in this case for a period of 90 days to allow me to complete a Driving Safety Course. I have not requested and taken the Course for a traffic offense 12 months prior to the date of this offense. I am not in the process of taking a course for any other traffic Citation, and I do not possess a Commercial Driver's License of any kind."

Your Signature: ____

SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED before me, the undersigned authority, on this the _____ day of _____, 20____, (seal)

Notary Signature: _____